: :inin Kyiv (EET)

Six Countries to Join UN Security Council for Temporary Terms

U.N. member states elected six countries Friday to temporary seats on the Security Council, the U.N. body responsible for maintaining international peace and security.

Starting January 1, 2018, Ivory Coast, Equatorial Guinea, Kuwait, Poland and Peru will serve two-year terms, while the Netherlands will join for one year, in a special arrangement with Italy.

The vote in the U.N. General Assembly generated little suspense, as regional groups had already decided among themselves which countries to put up as their candidates, and there was no competition for the seats. Candidates easily garnered the two-thirds majority of votes required on the first round of …read more

Source: Voice of America

World press about Ukraine

This website is created to observe information about Ukraine in the world media. More information about press.uaposition.com you can read here

World press category: terms & conditions